FIVE MINUTES WITH….MEGAN ROBINSON FROM THREAD.CO.NZ

The opportunity to People-watch, scope out fresh styles and explore fashions outside of her comfort zone are all things Megan Robinson, Editor at Thread.co.nz, is looking forward to at NZ Fashion Festival. We interviewed her to find out more about what she’ll be doing at NZFF 2012.

My name is Megan Robinson and I’m Editor of Thread.co.nz, a fashion and lifestyle website I started eleven years ago.

As well as being the owner/Director of the online mag, I do interviews, reviews and attend events, shows, and launches.

I used to have two boutiques selling New Zealand fashion and the odd thing I made, and now I enjoy writing about fashion – especially NZ fashion.

What stood out for me in NZ Fashion during 2011 was…Definitely all the colour that New Zealanders embraced. Ironically, I also really enjoyed the Black In Fashion exhibition that Doris de Pont’s NZ Fashion Museum held in Britomart!

The thing I’d pick to watch out for in 2012 is…The new trend of “sports luxe” should do very well in NZ as we love glam-casual and don’t get that dressed up.

Labels-wise, I’m watching new local labels such as UNDONE, MisteR, Katie Battersby, Katie Maree-Cole and more.

At previous fashion festivals you would most likely to find me…I went to the first NZFF and reviewed, then attended a couple of last year’s shows including the MAC masterclass, and sent writers along to review as well.

This year at NZFF I’ll be taking photos and writing reviews on any labels we didn’t see at NZ Fashion Week, and I think taking more of a beauty and hair trends perspective than in previous years.

What I’m looking forward to most about this years Fashion Festival is…the M.A.C workshop, On Trend. You get so many helpful tips from the experts.

If there’s one thing you can’t miss about the Festival this year, it’s…

If you are attending to get fresh ideas and want to expand your wardrobe a bit, I’d recommend having a look at what the other people are wearing off the catwalk as well as on it. Festival is a great opportunity to people watch; after all, here are 400 or so women interested enough in fashion that they’ve bought tickets to watch it. If you like someone’s style, try to notice what they’re wearing and notice how they style it (i.e. put it together and accessorise it.) I stick to my comfort zone but it would be nice to get out of it and take a few risks!

To me, NZ Fashion Festival is a great chance to…

See what designers consider the top ten pieces in their AW12 collections – bearing in mind that the garments on the NZ Fashion Week catwalk don’t always go into production – and how they style them. I am looking forward to seeing the hair and beauty too for new ideas. And of course, catch up with people, and have a drink and a chat.

WIN

Enter to win tickets to NZ Fashion Festival with Chambord liqueur over on Thread.co.nz

CLICK HERE to enter!
Tags: , , ,

About nzfashionfestival

Bigger and better than ever before, NZ Fashion Festival is back for 2012- with a brand new location at Auckland’s Shed 10, 5 completely different group shows plus daily hair, beauty and style seminars hosted by the likes of M.A.C and TRESemme... as well as a Designer Garage Sale and a host of FREE events, deals and shoes for you to enjoy around the city!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

